My Skincare Routine

Now before I start I’m just gunna say THIS IS NOT SPONSORED BY SIMPLE hahah (wish it was.. hit me up simple) but I just thought I needed to say that, which you will understand if you read on… I have combination VERY sensitive skin and eyes, and lots of face products particularly Nivea and Garnier products give me rashes especially around my eyes (whereas my sister swears by them). It’s taken me a good 5? years and various brands and products but i’m finally happy with my skincare, and except the odd breakout at ‘that time of the month’  I generally have very clear skin. This may seem like loads to some people, but this includes everything I use on my skin throughout the month, some more than others/depending on the occasion..it’ll all make sense (hopefully).

I get most of my skin care from Superdrug as they have sales and offers on Simple Skincare fairly regularly, so everytime I need to grab something it’s normally on offer, plus student discount. (Just an example of how good it is this is about £8 in some shops, yet its £3.45 currently in Superdrug!!! Bargin!)

Sooo… I do clean my face everyday (bar the very odd exception if i’m exhausted/forget, but as it’s part of my everyday routine its just habit now) and on a normal day I use the Simple Purifying Cleansing Lotion followed by the Simple Soothing Facial Toner. I apply these on to cotton pads, which you can get anywhere (I get them from Primark as that’s the cheapest place I find them and you can get large oval pads as well as cotton rounds and they are still 100% cotton) and use this to take off my make up and clean my face.

19549703_1647469851929666_158321936_o

If you don’t want the faff of using two different products I would suggest the Simple Pore Minimising Toning Cleanser, which is basically a two in one of the above. I use this when I have no make up days but still want to clean my face.

I then moisturise using the Simple Clear Skin Oil Balancing Moisturiser and just use my hands to smooth this all over my face. If i’m having a bad skin time I use the Simple anti-blemish Moisturiser instead, applying it in the same way. I use the Simple Kind to Eyes Soothing Eye Balm generally every other night, or when i’m feeling particularly tired or have big bags.

19576445_1647471251929526_269482700_o

If I’ve been wearing alot of makeup I remove it using the Simple Kind to Eyes Dual Effect Make-Up Remover or the Simple Hydrating Cleansing Oil if I have access to a sink. After this I will then cleanse and or tone and moisturise like normal.

19451466_1647469571929694_1564663075_o

When I’m having a lazy day or i’m really tired i’ll use a face wipe instead of cleaning my face properly and I use the Regeneration Age Resisting Cleansing Wipes. Similarly if i’m really tired and have been wearing loads of eye make up I use the Simple Brightening Eye Pads because I have such sensitive skin if i try and remove heavy makeup with normal cheap face wipes my eyes get so red! Haha

About once a week in the shower I use my DB Power Electric Facial Brush which is a waterproof brush with 5 detachable heads and an longer detachable handle. I only really use the two brush heads, the smaller one for my face and the larger one for my body every once in a while (it’s great for getting off fake tan). When I get in the shower I wet my hair and then usually rub the Simple Oil Balancing Facial Scrub into my skin, mainly around my chin, nose and forehead and then leave this on my face whilst I wash my hair/shave/sing a bit too loudly etc. I then pop a little of the Oil Balancing Exfoliating Wash onto the brush head and massage it into my skin before wiping it away with a damp flannel. I have noticed a huge difference since using this as I feel it really cleanses my skin and is a proper deep clean!

19531790_1647468918596426_2127316978_o

If I can feel a big spot coming or have spots I tend to use either the Clean & Clear Spot Control Treatment Gel or the Deep Action Anti-Blemish Gel. Then I also use the Tea Tree Spot Stick on my nose or areas that tend to get black heads.

19551399_1647471115262873_691733649_o

And finally on my lips, I swap between the Vaseline Rosy Lips Lip Therapy and the Nivea Lip Balm in Soft Rose.

19496166_1647468985263086_745957334_o

So that’s currently my everyday skin routine… It may seem excessive to some or very plain to others, but I’ve found that it works best for my skin and it’s also not too expensive! I think the best advice I can give anyone is that we all have such different skin and even you and your skin both have dry skin the same two products may not work for both of you.

Now even though I may seem like a simple activist here, there are products that don’t work for me, for instance, one of their moisturisers breaks me out every time I use it, but the best way to find these things out is to experiment. I’d say it’d taken me probably 3-4 years to get to where I am now, and even if it seems like it’s taking forever you’ll find something that works for you eventually! Let me know what your favourite skin products are for sensitive skin that you think I should try!

 

2 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

